Do No Harm


I have an idea I want to put past everyone that reads this blog and would invite you all to join and encourage to share this with everyone else.

Every time I hear or see about someone has been bullied my heart sinks.  I know I sound like and old lady but kids these days have no idea on respect and we have to do something about it.  Are y’all still with me?  Good…

What really made me sad was this weekend a day after his 12th birthday, Bailey O’Neil passed away after being in an induced coma for 2 months after being beaten up on a school playground.  Why does this continue to happen?  Why do kids have to suffer?  Everyday my daughter comes home to tell me there was a fight in school or on the school bus.  She won’t even set up a Facebook because she doesn’t want to see the fights and drama start.

My plan is to hopefully set up an organization to memorialize the victims of bullying

Set up more awareness of bullying what it can do to the bully and the victim through media you tube, Facebook etc.

Set up a tour to visit groups and schools to bring bullying awareness to the fore front through the use of film and skits.

Memorial quilt, much like the aids quilt but to memorialize the victims of bullying and take it on tour to various locations

I want to feel that I am doing something even if (again another cliché) saving one person against being bullied or bullying another it will be all worth it.

I am not just talking about kids; adults get bullied and are bullies as well.  But if we start with the kids the adults should follow.

I am looking at the name Do No Harm for the name but I am open to suggestions and thoughts about my plan.  Please feel free to comment or email, Facebook or twitter me.

Who’s with me on this?  we need to stand up now before it gets worse.

More to come…..

About Nicci Hartland

I write about what gets me passionate. Could be happy, sad, controversial, whatever it is, it comes from the heart...
This entry was posted in inspiration, kids, Life, pep talk and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

