20 Questions with Author Jeanine Binder


20 Questions with………

Jeanine BinderJeanine

Thank you Jeanine for taking the time to answer some questions

Tell us a little about yourself and your background:

I am a fairly new author – published first book in August 2014. I’m married, have 1 daughter and 2 grandchildren.  I work a primary job as a System Engineer for a large company.

What are your ambitions for your writing career?

I would love to have this take off so I could write full time. I would love to have a large publishing house such as Simon and Shuster or Little Brown Book pick me up.

Which writers inspire you?

Danielle Steel – researched a lot of her writing style before I wrote my first book; James Patterson, Robert Jordan (now deceased).

When did you decide to become a writer?

It was always something I wanted to do. I started reading when I was three years old and have never stopped.

So, what have you written?

I have three contemporary romance novels – Real Time (published 8/2014), A Fine Line (published 11/2014), and my current release, Ashes to Sparks (published 2/2015).

Where can we buy or see them?

A Fine Line is currently being promoted through Kindle Select (Kindle Unlimited) so it is only available here:  Amazon Kindle Select

Real Time:

Kindle 

 Nook

Apple

Google Play

Ashes to Sparks:

Kindle

Nook

Apple

Google Play

 Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book?

Well, throwing Paul Walker out because he’d dead – would have been perfect – would go with either Christian Bale or Chris Hemsworth to play Ryan.

What are you working on at the minute?

The sequel to “Real Time”. It was intended to be a stand alone book, but I have had so many comments from readers asking for a second installment.  A lot tougher to write a sequel when you didn’t leave any “holes” to exploit.

What is the hardest thing about writing?

Making sure the story flows. It’s real easy to write dialogue but that doesn’t make the story flow.  I don’t like writing in the first-person view for that reason – becomes “all about me” and not enough with the story.

What is the easiest thing about writing?

I have the talent – writing is like sitting on a beach for me. Everyone has some kind of talent – I can play the piano.  I know where the notes are and can pound out a song or two.  But I don’t have the talent –

Do you ever get writer’s Block?

All the time.

Any tips on how to get through the dreaded writer’s block?

Write more than one book at a time. When I get really stuck, then I pull open another manuscript and write some thoughts.  I don’t write my books in order, so it’s easy for me to have random snippets that I can make into working paragraphs.

What book/s are you reading at present?

I just finished “NYPD Red3” by James Patterson. Have read all of his NYPD Red series, the Michael Bennett series, the Private series, and the Alex Cross series.

What is your favorite book and why?

Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott. The book was written when Louisa was seventeen – I applaud her determination to write the book, especially when she lived (1800’s).

Do you listen to music while you write and if so what do you listen to?

Am a big fan of Alan Parsons and Van Halen (the Sammy Hagar days).

What is your favorite movie and why?

Tombstone; I’m a big Kurt Russell and Val Kilmer fan.  The movie was well done and I loved the interaction between Russell and Kilmer.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Don’t lose faith. It took me over 30 years to finally put together a novel that was worth publishing.  Don’t get discouraged with publishing houses – it’s getting harder and harder to get someone to accept your work.  Don’t be afraid to be an independent and there are plenty of people willing to help you achieve this – me included.

Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

If you read a book, take the time to go and leave an honest review. Reviews are an author’s bread and butter – reviews need to be constructive – if you don’t like something that’s fine but don’t just give a low review without stating why, so that the author can absorb this.

What do you do when you are not writing?

Working mostly – work 45 hours a week. Hubs and I like to go to Tulsa and Kansas City to watch shows.  Just saw Pentatonix last night, Gordon Lightfoot in February, and Garth Brooks in January.

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

They can like my Facebook author page. They can read about me on Amazon or, they can look me up on Goodreads

Thank you again to Jeanine for taking the time and answering my questions.

Real TimeAshes to SparksA Fine Line

About Nicci Hartland

I write about what gets me passionate. Could be happy, sad, controversial, whatever it is, it comes from the heart...
This entry was posted in Author, Author Spotlight, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

